Wednesday, July 29, 2009

Day 13.

Not gonna lie, I am surprised I got in the work out I did today. For starters, I spent my day on the beach and came back with a pretty wicked upper body sunburn. I didn't use protection because what I had I was allergic too, so that's no good. Hives & heat? NO THANKS. Secondly, I am slightly stressed because the wedding I'm going to in St. Thomas this weekend - yeah, I'm singing in it. 5 Songs. I have been struggling to fit in rehearsal time... I think I'll be okay, but naturally I'm anxious.

Nevertheless, I did Shoulders, Arms, Abs, and an extra 20 minutes of cardio. Thoughts today? Well, I increased some of the weight on my shoulders and bis, which made me very happy. Triceps I am staying light still. Mostly because kickbacks are such a ridiculous exercise in a retarded position and I don't want to hurt myself, ha. I thoroughly enjoyed my extra cardio but I wish I'd have done more.. I got fatigued. I think two work outs a day are best separated, something I will be doing tomorrow.

Tomorrow is yoga, don't hate on me, but I might super in Plyometrics. I miss it on this lean plan and I hate hate hate yoga. Then some extra cardio perhaps. Who knows.

It's weird it's only Day 13. It feels longer but I've really only been doing 5 days a week so I suppose that's why.

Well, I need to go rehearse more.

Tuesday, July 28, 2009

Days 11 & 12

My goodness this blog is harder to keep up with than I thought!! I have been super busy! This past weekend I attempted [read: attempted!] wake boarding. That took a lot out of me, I was beat, and sore the next day!

Monday I picked back up with Core Synergistics and it was slightly easier than the first time, but not that much! Geeeez, I thought I'd like it but I really just find it to be annoying.

Today was supposed to be Cardio X, but I found that to be...ehh. I don't feel like my heart rate is as high as I'd like it to be so I switched it up for 45 minutes on the elliptical that I have collecting dust downstairs. It worked though! I was sweating and my heart was pounding! Yessss!

I think I will probably add cardio in with my shoulders, arms, and abs tomorrow. I like having the extra work out, plus I think I need more cardio for optimum fat loss.

Finally, on Saturday I leave for St. Thomas for 5 days. It's for a destination wedding. The hotel has a gym and I am bringing my lap top as well as Plyometrics, Core, Kenpo, and maybe Yoga, to get some serious work out time in before the fun in the sun takes place. I don't want to lose momentum! As far as yoga goes though... yep...still hate it.

Wednesday, July 22, 2009

Day 9 & 10 - Changes?s

I know the other day I said I was starting to feel some changes but today I feel slightly discouraged. I did legs and back and abs and it was tough on my knees today. I also felt like the "pull ups" that I'm doing with the resistance bands are way too easy. Is it time to start doing real pull ups? Maybe.

I am doing everything right - mostly. Eating right, doing the work outs. If I miss a day, I double up the next. I haven't lost one pound! Granted, I only really want to tone and lose 10-15lbs... but I thought if I was working out and eating right a pound a week was healthy. Is this wrong for a 5'5" 140lb woman? Is it because I don't have much to lose that I haven't seen many results? Granted, the boyfriend said because it's only been 9 days and I'm not obese it'll take longer for me to see changes, but I'm not going to lie, I'm a bit discouraged. This is probably because I spend most of my time with itty bitty girls and I feel like the fat girl all the time. Maybe I'm not eating enough for the amount of strength training I'm doing? Or maybe I just need more cardio?

I've always struggled with what to eat while working out. Losing weight by diet alone is no problem, but I can never keep it off. I throw in working out and now I can't lose anything. I'm either eating too much or too little. I don't want to stay the same, I want CHANGES! Am I just being impatient?

I just want to feel sexy.

PS - I still hate Yoga.

Monday, July 20, 2009

Work outs 7 & 8!

Well, be proud of me!! I did both work outs today!!! I feel phenomenal! Tired, but great.

First I did Cardio X, as that's the second work out for the Lean version of the program. I liked it except that it begins with yoga and that I hate...seriously. Then it gives different routines from Plyo, Kenpo, and Core, all of which I enjoyed and could do fairly easily. I was definitely sweating though! I feel like it'd be a good addition to my work outs a few days a week. Like, working it in and doing two work outs on certain days. I liked it and I felt extra energized!

I gave myself a few hours and then did Shoulders & Arms as well as Ab Ripper. I still hate Ab Ripper. I don't know... I guess that explains the cushion in my waist because I hate working out my abs. Actually, no I don't. I just hate a lot of the exercises on Ab Ripper. Nevertheless though, I did it. For Shoulders and Arms I increased my weight on most of the exercises from 5lbs to 10lbs. I could've probably done 10lbs last week but I took it easier since I hadn't done anything in some time. I am excited though because I feel stronger.

I know it's only week two, so I won't see many changes yet, but I do feel a lot stronger, more well rested, and tighter all over. I thought about taking some photos each week, but I won't do it right now because I drank so much water I'm sure I won't look all that "thin" persay. Maybe in the morning. I went shopping the other day and a few weeks ago before the diet/exercise I would've been a solid 6. This week I fit in the 6 but the back of it gapped. I also fit in the four and it FELT comfortable, I just don't totally love how it looks yet. But seriously, if these are the changes I've got coming, I have a lot to look forward to!

Something I'm not looking forward to? Yoga tomorrow morning. NOT COOL.

Any tips for making it easier? Besides, "Just BREATHE!" because that doesn't work.

I wish I could sub yoga with plyo.

Sunday, July 19, 2009

Busy Busy! Days 6 & 7!!!

So, on Friday I did Kenpo X. So far it's my FAVORITE!! I loved it. I think because it reminded me of boxing a lot. Granted, I struggled with some things related to kicking, but cardiovascular wise, I did great!! Boyfriend said he was proud of me. I was sore first thing Saturday morning though which did not make my next work out easy AT ALL!!

Boyfriend and I discussed it and decided I would switch to P90X Lean. That meant Saturday morning would be Core Synergistics. Boy was that HARD!! I was crying half way through it but boyfriend wouldn't let me quit! Like my first two work outs, it was good was there. He helped me with form a lot. He's also great at giving encouragement when I might otherwise have quit.

As for today?! It was super busy! I woke up early and headed to a bridal shower for a wedding in which I'm a bridesmaid. I got home around 7:00 and have been exhausted since! I know I need to work out, of course. I think boyfriend is disappointed... but my goal was go wake up tomorrow morning and do Cardio X and then do another work out tomorrow evening. That will make up for missing today. I WILL do that. Even if the boyfriend doubts it.

I wasn't prepared for fitting in the work outs to my busy life! Perhaps that's the most challenging part thus far. I do have to say though, I am sleeping better and I feel better over all. I think I see little changes but I'm sure a 9 days of diet and exercise is too soon to see anything significant really. We'll see.

Wish me luck that I stick to the two work outs tomorrow....

Wednesday, July 15, 2009

Day 5!

Day 5 was legs and back! Holy crap was it hard. I was sweating like crazy and sore well before the next day. My gluts and hamstrings and inner thighs mostly. It's a crazy good sore though! I can't squat down!! I did Ab Ripper afterward, but I was so tired. I didn't do it as well as I could have. I think it might be beneficial to separate the two work outs and do them different times of the day. I'm just so beat after and hour of intense legs and back [or chest and back for that matter] that Abs seems pointless because I'm so tired I half ass it. Just a thought for now though.

Today I was even more sore so after work I opted to take a day off. They recommend 6 days a week. Boyfriend says I could do 5. I took today off but I plan on working out tomorrow, Friday, and Saturday morning. Sunday will likely be another off day because I have a busy weekend and I'm not sure how easy it'll be.

I'm not punking out, don't worry! Just trying to get my schedules in order.

I am also considering doing P90X Lean now, instead of the classic. While I've always opted more for strength training, I'm feeling like more cardio would be beneficial for me as I'm trying to lose 11lbs of fat or so. Any thoughts on this?

Monday, July 13, 2009

Day 4 - Yoga X

This was slightly discouraging for me. I guess I expected it to be more beginner friendly? I am not a beginner in fitness by any means, but yoga? That's another story.

I couldn't get through the entire hour and a half work out, mainly because I felt frustrated. I knew I wasn't flexible, but damn! I did what I could for the first week I guess. I am trying to think of ways to improve my flexibility. I suppose if I stretch some every night and every morning in addition to my regular work outs, that will be beneficial?

Maybe I don't like yoga because it's so low intensity. I didn't feel like I was doing anything good for my body, even though yoga lovers will probably disagree. Really, it just made me feel like I had no fitness ability whatsoever. I guess that's the key with muscle confusion and these work outs, I'm not going to be good at everything immediately. Truth be told though, I'd much rather do push ups or plyometrics any day!

Regardless, I suppose I'll need to give it another shot. I wasn't completely awful at everything but it's like, the further the DVD went on, the harder the moves got. I feel all stretched out, but not as relaxed as I'd hoped. Probably because I allowed myself to be frustrated if I couldn't do something. Where's those words of encouragement, Tony? Come on now, you should mention in there somewhere that not everyone will be good at Yoga X right away.

Well, tomorrow is another day. I'm looking forward to tomorrow's work out: Legs and Back and of course, Ab Ripper. I find that I enjoy high intensity work outs much more than low intensity, though I see the need for both.

Today I went grocery shopping and I bought all of the excellent foods on the list that are acceptable to my taste buds. Most of the stuff is things I already eat. I did add a few extras in there though. I'm excited about that, that's for sure.

Time to go cut up some veggies and fruit. Hopefully tomorrow is a better day..........